Chutney

Last weekend I made some plum and ginger chutney.  It’s been ages since I last made chutney, and I seem to remember it taking ages.  But this was very easy and pretty quick.  I acquired some plums from a colleague who had a glut of them and then found this recipe and had about half of the plums required.  It’s very simple; put all of the ingredients plums, ginger, onion, garlic, sugar, sultanas and vinegar (chopped where necessary) in a sauce pan…

Chutney raw

…bring to the boil and then simmer for 45 mins.  I ended up leaving it for about an hour as it was still quite runny.

Chutney cooking

Then leave to cool and put in a jar.

It tastes good.  Not very gingery, if anything I would prefer it more gingery, but that’s just personal preference (I seem to love ginger at the moment, especially ginger tea and dark chocolate ginger biscuits, yum!).

I have also acquired a couple of cooking apples and a marrow.  I’m thinking crumble with the apples but I’m not sure what to do with the marrow??

Leave a Reply

