Yay, a finished project

I’ve finished the baby blanket I started a couple of weeks ago, using some of my quilt festival fabric (and some from last year).  Here it is:

I’ve kept it simple using five by six, 5″ squares pieced together for the top and lovely soft polar fleece for the back (with no batting/wadding as the fleece makes it nice and warm anyway).  I found this tutorial from one of my favourite blogs to create a boarder/binding.

Boarder/binding pinned to the fleece backing

It works well but I found it a little fiddly in the corners and found I had to stop after one edge then re-adjust the material to do the next edge.

The corners

I was worried about the fleece stretching if I quilted across it so I did a square 1/2″ in from every other square which worked fine.

I love the snail fabric!

Finished size is approximately 25″ x 30″ so I’m thinking it will be suitable as a pram blanket.  I plan to make more of these with different fabrics, potentially for a craft stall at some point in the future.  Hopefully you will see more here soon.

Lovely fleece back

One Comment to “Yay, a finished project”

  1. That is really sweet! I like the idea of using fleece – perfect for a baby blanket. I especially like the stitched square within a fabric square, they look fab!

Leave a Reply

