Archive for October 16th, 2011

October 16, 2011

A sketchy weekend

Each year with work we go away somewhere for the weekend to do some sketching along with a bit of team bonding.  As urban designers/planners, thinking and being creative is part of what we do, but sketching in the field isn’t and, therefore, its is not something the we (I) necessarily excel at.  But it is a good skill to have and it helps you to really look at a place and I have found that I have improved at it over the years (although I don’t tend to do any from one year to the next).

This year we went to the Cotswolds.  Despite it being less than 2 hours from Cardiff, it’s a part of the world that I have never been to before and it is beautiful!  We had amazing weather to explore Winchcombe (where we stayed), Bourton-on-the-water (a lovely little town with a river running through the centre) and Broardway (another gorgeous small town).

The sketching quality was mixed.  Sometimes I’m just not in the right frame of mind and I know they’re going to turn out rubbish.  I had a couple that ended up ok with a little finishing off still to do.  Here they (the better ones) are…

A view down the river in Bourton-on-the-water

A house in Broadway (a bit of finishing off still to be done)

A couple of views in Winchcombe (a bit quicker and slightly less focused this morning. And I can't draw cars to save my life!)

Also had to take a photo of this…

A shop in Winchcombe that sold shoes and pet things. An odd combination!

And a couple other pics…

Sudeley Castle

Cute row of houses

Tags: , ,