Embroidery

At the moment I seem to have ‘crafting attention deficit disorder’!.  I just want to try everything and do everything.  One minute it’s sketching, the next it’s jewellery making, then sewing and now embroidery.  I have so many ideas and new things I want to try, just not the hours in the day.  

I’ve been wanting to do embroidery for ages.  I got Aimee Ray’s book Doodle Stitching a couple of years ago and I love the way she uses embroidery to illustrate in a fresh and modern way.  I didn’t follow her patterns but decided to make up my own.  Inspired by the print on a top I had, my idea was to use swirls, hearts, dots and flowers to form the shape of a flying bird.  I drew it out onto paper then copied it onto the fabric (which I backed with iron on interfacing) using carbon paper.  

Image

Looks vaguely like a bird

I wanted a fairly subtle end result so I decided to use variegated thread in the same colour as the fabric.  Using back stitch, satin stitch, french knots and lazy daisy stitch I worked over the lines I had drawn.  It took me a couple of evenings in front of the telly to finish it off.  

Image

I hadn’t really thought about what I was going to do with it but I had this frame which didn’t fit something else I made and I think it looks quite good in there.  I need to remember to think these things through before I start them really but I was just too eager to get going!

Image

I will definitely do more embroidery, I have lots of ideas of what to do, but it might have to wait in the queue behind the other things I’m planning on doing.  Which craft next…?

One Comment to “Embroidery”

  1. simply gorgeous
    we have one of those “doodle” books – I’ll have to have a closer look . . . maube there will be a simple model for trapunto ^^

Leave a Reply

