Creative Craft Corner

I recently started a textiles course which involves a bit of drawing, painting, sticking etc as well as sewing.  So I thought it would be handy to have a space set up for where I can have the bits and pieces I need handy and not have to put everything away at the end of every session.  I would love to have a craft room, but that would mean throwing my housemate out and that’s not conducive to funding further craft activities or maintaining human contact!  But I did have this corner in my lounge that wasn’t doing a great deal.

A quick trip to Ikea and a rummage in the cupboards later and I now have a little station to do my work at.

It’s quite a bright, cosy little corner now.  Not much to it; table and chair, lamp (Ikea), wire photo holder for inspiration pics (from somewhere in Bath ages ago), plant pots for brushes and bits and bobs and spice jars for smaller bits and bobs (both Ikea), space for some books including my collection of secondhand sewing/textiles books and the small wooden draw set (also from Ikea!).

The draws came in plain wood like this…

 But a couple of coats of white primer, some pretty serviettes and some matte Mod Podge later and they were transformed.  I’m really pleased with how they turned out.

I didn’t do the inside (or all of the sides and backs of the draws) but i did line with some pretty paper.

 

The rest of the stuff in my house had better beware, before you know it I might have everything covered in serviettes and Mod Podge!

2 Comments to “Creative Craft Corner”

  1. What a peaceful corner. I love what you did with the ikea drawers. I’ve had some since Ikea first came to Warrington and they are in a dreadful state. Maybe I should have a go.

    • Thanks Jackie. Decorating the draws was a fun little project. Its quite a delicate process with the tissue (just the top layer of a three ply), just watch for crinkling and tears x

Leave a Reply

